What’s for lunch??? Kale Pesto Spaghetti with Goat Cheese


I am loving my new collage maker app, these pics are so fun for Pinterest!  What do you all think? If you love it, I downloaded it from the App Store on my MacBook, it’s called: Picture Collage Maker Lite. Super easy to use and FREE, you can download it here!

Now, on to the recipe!  I’m a HUGE pesto fan and a recently converted Kale fan! For the sake of full disclosure I will admit that I’m a somewhat finicky kale fan.  I don’t enjoy it raw.  It’s too bitter and I’m not a huge fan of the texture either, but I do love it steamed and now I also love it as pesto!

I decided to add the pesto to spaghetti and throw in some sun-dried tomatoes and goat cheese, because well they’re awesome! I also decided to try gluten-free spaghetti for the first time and it was also awesome!

Ingredients (serves 1)

  • 4 oz spaghetti
  • 1/4 cup kale pesto
  • 2 tbsp sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese (crumbled)

Kale Pesto (makes 1 1/2 cups)

  • 4 cups kale (chopped)
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup cashews
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup parmesan

Start by boiling the water and cooking the pasta while you prepare the pesto. (Try saying that 2 times fast! Pasta, prepare, pesto, pasprepa pa pa pa… yup ;-) )

Begin making the pesto by adding the kale and garlic to a blender or food processor and blend for 30 seconds. Next add the cashews and blend for 15 seconds.

Then add the salt, pepper, olive oil and water and blend until all the ingredients have been incorporated.

Finally add the parmesan cheese and pulse for 5-10 seconds to combine.

And there it is in all its green goodness!

Now drain the pasta and mix in the pesto and sun-dried tomatoes!

Place in a bowl and top with the goat cheese.

Since we’re on this whole “full disclosure” thing, I will now admit that I ate this for 3 meals straight this week because it was that good!

♣ Vegan Option: Omit the goat cheese.

  • “Add the Meat” Option: Add grilled chicken on top of the pasta for a delicious and filling dinner recipe!

♦ Gluten Free Option: This recipe is gluten-free. Yay for delicious Trader Joes Gluten-Free pasta!!!

♥ All pottery seen on the littleleopardbook can be purchased by visiting www.longaberger.com/muffetbond or e-mailing keepsakebl@sbcglobal.net.

2 responses »

  1. This looks like an amazing and pretty simple meal. I really think goat cheese isn’t used as much as it should be, especially here in the United States. I’ll have to give this a try some night

  2. Pingback: Cooking With Kale: Easy Recipes for Real People | PFS

Leave a Reply

